Best Drupal HostingBest Joomla HostingBest Wordpress Hosting


10am - 7pm


10am - 7pm




Help make the library better for everyone. Your donation will help us buy more books, support our programming efforts, and improve our services. Donate today.

Coady & Tompkins Memorial Library

The Drs. Coady & Tompkins Memorial Library was established on May 12, 1978 through the initiative of the Margaree and Area Development Association.

The library is named in honour of Dr. Moses Coady and Dr. Jimmy Tompkins, both originally from the Margaree area. Drs. Coady and Tompkins are well known for their formative role in the cooperative & credit union movements, adult education initiatives and in the case of Dr. Tompkins, public libraries within the province.

Provincial and municipal funds allowed for the addition in late 1994, of an access ramp and a 26' by 16' expansion which houses reference and other collections, as well as public access terminals.

More information about Drs. Coady and Tompkins

The following material was prepared by the students of the 2018 Community Leadership Course (History Department) at Saint Mary’s University. Supervisor: Dr. S.Karly Kehoe. Students: Sarah Budgell; Jake Bullen; Lisa Bunyan; Jenelle Reid; and Trisha Turner.

Who were Coady and Tompkins?

Annotated bibliography of works about Dr. Moses Coady and Dr. James Tompkins

Services Available Include:

  • Four computers with High-Speed Internet available for public use (Windows 10, CD Burner, scanner, MS Office, Laser and Colour Inkjet Printer).
  • 802.11g wireless internet access.
  • Photocopying and fax available.


Branch Information
Find us at: 7972 Cabot Trail, Margaree Forks, NS
Mailing address: Coady & Tompkins Memorial Library c/o ECRL Headquarters
390 Murray Street, PO Box 2500, Mulgrave, NS, B0E2G0
Phone/Fax: (902) 248-2821
Facebook Page:
Manager: Laura Emery, Chief Librarian/CEO,

Learn More

Click here to find out essential information about your ECRL membership. Maximize the power of your library card!